Luiz Gonzaga – Um Novo Espaço Para A Música (1978)

Luiz Gonzaga
Um Novo Espaço Para A Música
1978 RCA  109.0035

A1 Apologia Ao Jumento (O Jumento É Nosso Irmão)           5:37
A2 Assum Preto                2:36
A3 Paraíba                 2:55
A4 Asa Branca            2:45
A5 Boiadeiro            2:33
A6 Qui Nem Giló             2:47
A7 A Triste Partida              8:53
B1 Karolina Com K                6:42
B2 Paulo Afonso              2:40
B3 Mangaratiba               2:38
B4 Capim Novo               2:40
B5 Feira de Caruaru                   3:09
B6 ABC Do Sertão                2:31
B7 Serrote Agudo               2:35
B8 Juazeiro            2:27
B9 Baião           2:44

LINEAGE: RCA 109.0035, 1978 vinyl; Pro-Ject RM-5SE with Audio Tecnica AT440-MLa cartridge; Speedbox power supply; Creek Audio OBH-15; Audioquest King Cobra cables; M-Audio Audiophile 192 Soundcard ; Adobe Audition at 32-bit float 192khz; clicks and pops removed with Click Repair on very light settings, manually auditioning the output; further clicks removed with Adobe Audition 3.0; Stereo->2-channel mono using Click Repair (declicking turned off) on certain mono tracks; other mono tracks seem to have had reverb or other processing added which causes phase cancellation on a mono fold-down. Dithered and resampled using iZotope RX Advanced. Converted to FLAC in either Trader’s Little Helper or dBPoweramp. Tags done with Foobar 2000 and Tag and Rename.

A collection of Luiz Gonzaga ripped in a hurry just barely in time for the holiday of São João because it has been a tradition around here to feature some Gonzagão in June for years now.  Most of these songs have been shared here before in other collections but a few might be new.  It is nearly an hour’s worth of music and the sequencing is a bit odd for a compilation that presumably could serve as an introduction to the man and his music (for example, given away with promotional materials, like this copy was — see below).   His most famous recordings and compositions are kind of buried (“Baião” is the grand finale), and many are not here at all, probably due to record label squabbles.   It is not a bad compilation, though, and it features a track that is longer than Stairway To Heaven.

As I alluded to already, this LP had a bunch of promotional material for a late 1980s appearance by Gonzaga in New York City stuffed inside the jacket.  The flier advertising him as the “King of BAION”, whatever that is, is apparently not a typo.  They repeat that curious spelling several times in the full-page bio, which I have also included along with an 8×10 headshot.  Because I love my blog readers just that much!

Every now and then, people leave comments about a post to which they have a particular connection.  That is always welcome and makes me feel warm and fuzzy.  So if anybody wants to share memories or information about Club Brazil International’s presentation of Luiz Gonzaga at Town Hall, or the press conference at Manhattan Brewery, please leave a comment below.  Normally I jump at the chance to do research for a post like this but I have a lot of “stuff” going on right now so let’s just post this here and I’ll update it with any new or interesting tidbits as they come in.  The concert had to be after 1986, based on the bio sheet, but before his death in 1989.


16-bit 44.1 khz

password: vibes

Liked it? Take a second to support Dr. Vibes on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!
Bookmark the permalink.


  1. É otimo ter este grande album Luiz Gonzaga, Muito obrigado. Entretanto, o arquivo que deveria ser HiRes-24BIT é o mesmo do REDBOOK. Seria ótimo também ter um link do antigo rip de “LUIZ GONZAGA CANTA SEUS SUCESSOS COM ZÉ DANTAS” em HiRes-24BIT. E, também, os links dos outros álbuns de LUIZ GONZAGA presentes aqui no site, e se possível todos em HiRes.

    Meu muitíssimo obrigado.


    • Obrigado por seu comentário, Marco. Se não me engano, o disco “Canta Seus Sucessos com Zé Dantas” seja do CD mesmo, então não tenho HiRes daquilo. Vou ajeitar o link acima agora. Valeu!

  2. Muito obrigado pela presteza, já baixei o HiRes, queria te agradecer e te dizer que o som está maravilhoso.

  3. Parece que link é do HiRes do álbum de Helio Matheus.

  4. Bom dia, meu caro!

Leave a Reply