Linval Thompson – Rocking Vibration (1978)

I personally lead a drug-free life these days (except for the meds that keep me from hearing voices), but that does not stop me from appreciating the amazing music brought to us by the guy who recorded “I Love Marijuana.” At the moment I live in a world of vampires and infidels, and to ward them off I try to always adorn myself with garlic and also crank the righteous roots reggae. It is good to chant down Babylon with this album, with Sly and Robbie laying the foundation. Note that Makasound changed the running order of the original album.

“I’m going to get myself together, just like the angel above the sky, just like the twelve disciples of Jerusalem, I’m going to get myself together because I’m gonna move it on, I’m gonna groove it on, so groove with me my brothers, groove with me my sisters..”


Linval Thompson – Rocking Vibration (1978)
320 kbs – baixar aqui!

1 Never Push Your Brother
2 Freedom Fighters
3 Rocking Vibration
4 More Power
5 I Got to Have You
6 No Confusion
7 Black Woman
8 Rasta Children
9 Dangerous Position
10 No More Problems
11 Jah Jah a Do It
12 Super Star
13 Just Another Girl
14 Mr Bossman
15 Dont Pust Me Around
16 Give Thanks and Praises
17 Natty Pressure Them

All tracks recorded between 1975 & 1979
Studio : Channel One, Black Ark, King Tubby’s
Engineers : Scientist, Lee Perry, King Tubby, Brad Osborne, Douglas Levy.
Musicians : Robbie Shakespear, Lloyd byks, Aston “Familyman” Barret, Sly Dunbar, Carlton “Santa” Davis, Leroy “Horsemouth” Wallace, Earl “Chinna” Smith, Tony Chin, Ossie, Ansel Collins, Skully …

Review by Rick Anderson

Over the past several years, the French Makasound label has been unearthing an impressive amount of obscure but top-quality roots reggae from the 1970s. This particular collection draws on the work of singer, songwriter, and producer Linval Thompson between 1977 and 1979; the songs compiled here were all recorded at Channel One and mixed at King Tubby’s studio — with the exception of the album’s real find, a previously unreleased song titled “Natty Pressure Them,” which Thompson recorded at the Black Ark studio with Lee “Scratch” Perry. Frankly, that song is of more historical than musical interest; it’s not bad, but not terribly exciting either, with unusually restrained and almost lackluster production from Perry. But several other tracks shine quite brightly: “Black Woman” is a fine piece of vintage lovers rock, and “Rasta Children” finds Thompson working in a solid rockers vein. He does a creditable job on the Ken Boothe classic “Just Another Girl,” and his one-drop sufferer’s anthem, “More Power,” is also impressive. A couple of tracks (notably “Jah Jah a Do It”) suffer from poor sound quality, but overall this is a welcome contribution to a solid catalog of lovingly prepared compilations from reggae’s golden period. Recommended.

Liked it? Take a second to support Dr. Vibes on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!
Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply