Joyce – Visions of Dawn (1976)

joyce visions

1. Banana
2. Clareana
3. Metralhadeira
4. Nacional Kid
5. Tudo Bonito
6. Suite: Part 1-Memorias Do Porvir Suite: Part 2. Visões Do Amanhecer (Visions Of Dawn)
7. Suite: Part 3: Carnavalzinho (Little Carnaval)
8. Jardim Dos Deuses
9. Chegada

Release info wrote:
‘Visions of Dawn’ is the original ‘lost’ Brazilian acid-folk album recorded in Paris in 1976. This stunning, previously unreleased project by three Brazilian music legends has now been rescued and set free by Joe Davis’ Far Out Recordings. Led by the sharp lyrics and gorgeous, expressive voice and guitar of Joyce the trio is completed by the expert musicianship of her close friends Nana Vasconcelos (percussion) and Mauricio Maestro (electric bass, vocals, guitar and producer) who were both crucial in creating this masterpiece. These beautiful, hazy and understated recordings, which took place among the charming artistic 1970s Paris scene, offer a unique chance to sit in on the original jamming sessions of tracks that later became Brazilian cult classics. With Andy Votel’s stunning psychedelic designs dripping from the cover the Paris 1976 project is utterly essential.

joyce visions2

“These pictures were taken in 1976 when my partner Mauricio Maestro and I (left) had recently arrived in Paris. We recorded an album there with our friend Nana Vasconcelos (Right), who then lived in France. We were ready for new adventures.
‘Visions of Dawn’ – in the language of Barack Obama – is taken from the Suite of our 1976 disc. For the album to be more psychedelic would be impossible. This is not a Joyce album this is a work of three heads.” – Joyce, 2009

joyce visions3

Thanks to Kung for hooking this up!

I am still exploring this new release and thus am running short on pithy remarks. It is a very lovely piece of unreleased work. However it should be noted that Joyce’s own commentary quoted above, “For the album to be more psychedelic would be impossible,” well…. that is a wee bit overstated. With that kind of pronouncement you might expect a visit from Roky Erickson or the Electric Prunes, showing up in the studio to come lay down some mind-melting lysergic juggernaut in the middle of the album, but alas the reality is much less psychotropic. And thank the lord for that, because these days the Elevators and the Prunes tend to just give me a headache anyway. In fact the first half of this album, while textured, gorgeous, well-written and typically well-executed, is much less adventurous than her 1972 record with Nelson Angelo (also found here). The experimentalism cometh forth on the long song-suite (divided into tracks 6 and 7 on the CD) that contains some pan-dimensional wordless singing from Joyce and Nana Vasconcelos’ ayahuascan percussion. Mauricio Maestro — on bass, vocals, and guitar – is the least well-known of these three. He is all over this record, providing a foundation in a way. He would go on to form the band Boca Livre with Zé Renato a few years later. There are two early versions of songs that would later be rerecorded — and not changed terribly much either — “Banana” and “Clareana.” Both of them became hit songs, leading me to wonder why this record never saw the light of day.

So I am enjoying this new/old record quite nicely, thanks to Kung. My comments above are not so much criticisms as just fair-warnings to those who might get overly-excited about the hype. “Acid-folk” is a hot-button flavor-of-the-week for the indie set, and let’s be straight here — Paid music journalists, being the spineless vermin and vultures that they are, will generally repeat whatever the record label’s promo packet they got in the mail has to say, without too much modification or independent research. I suspect the label, US-based Far Out Recordings, wanted to generate the sort of giddy feelings that were generated when Os Mutantes “lost” album Technicolour, also recorded in Paris, was released earlier this century. Well, they were both recorded in Paris, and unreleased for around thirty years. The comparison ends there. We are all very lucky that this inexplicably unreleased gem has been uncovered, it should please pretty much anyone who has been frequenting this blog for a while. Enjoy!

“Visions of Dawn” link taken down by request, but you can find it here.

Song sample — the first two parts of the enchanting “visões do amanhecer” trilogy.

Liked it? Take a second to support Dr. Vibes on Patreon!
Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply