Rubens da Mangueira – Eu Sou Assim (1978) (Copacabana COLP – 12225)

Rubens da Mangueira
Eu Sou Assim
1978 Copacabana COLP – 12225

The Mangueira escola de samba has produced no shortage of delights in terms of composers, singers, and musicians, and they are still going strong today.  Understandably, with eternal titans like Cartola and Nelson Cavaquinho associated with the institution, other sambistas were destined to forever walk in their shadows as mere mortals, and were proud to do so.  This record by Rubens da Mangueira opens with the funky, humorous Estrangeiro no samba.  The real stand-out track here to me is the mournful A vida continua lamenting the loss of a fellow brother in samba.  The whole album is solid and has never been issued on CD.  This is another LP that I ripped and then misplaced for a few years

A1 Estrangeiro No Samba
A2 Todo Errado
A3 Essa Alma Quer Reza
A4 Fala Zêca Do Chocalho
A5 Vou Jogar Capoeira
A6 Vovô E Vovó
B1 Menina
B2 Bato Pandeiro E Toco Viola
B3 A Vida Continua
B4 Cuidado Com O Boi
B5 Franqueza
B6 Exaltação À Jacy

Arranged By – Maestro Pachequinho
Art Direction – Paulo Rocco
Coordinator – J. F. Blumenschein Filho
Executive Producer – Lindolfo Barbosa


16-bit 44.1 khz

password: vibes

Liked it? Take a second to support Dr. Vibes on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!
Bookmark the permalink.


  1. Hey there – thank you for all your awesome posts! It appears there are some skips in the MP3 files – I noticed this in ‘Franqueza’. If you have a chance to re-rip it, that would be awesome. If not, I’ll just keep reading and enjoying 🙂

    • Hmm, well the mp3s are transcodes of the FLAC files and I listened to this without noticing any problems. Hopefully they are fine (I will have to check), in which case I can just do a new transcode and make sure my processor isn’t doing anything else..

Leave a Reply